Out of concern for the safety our public, musicians, and staff, and in an effort to reduce the spread of COVID-19 (coronavirus), all New York Philharmonic concerts through June 13th, 2020 are cancelled. We will not be shipping orders until further notice. Thank you.

New York Philharmonic An American Celebration: Volume 2

Regular price $100.00

Tax included.

An American Celebration, Volume 2

Disc 1

Ellington-Marsalis: A Tone Parallel to Harlem (Lincoln center Jazz Orchestra/Marsalis), Masur, 1999

Bernstein: Serenade for Violin (Dicterow), Slatkin, 1990

Schuller: Dramatic Overture, Mitropoulos, 1957

Mennin: Concertato (Moby Dick), Bernstein, 1963

Copland: Orchestral Variations, Bernstein, 1958

Disc 2

Bernstein: Candide Overture, Without Conductor, 1992

Gould: Dance Variations (Whittemore & Lowe), Mitropoulos, 1953

Barber: Medea’s Meditation and Dance of Vengeance, Mitropoulos, 1956

Diamond: The World of Paul Klee, Lipkin, 1960

Rorem: Symphony No 3, Bernstein, 1959

Disc 3: Foss: Introductions and Good-Byes (Reardon), Bernstein, 1960

Copland: Nonet for Strings, Steinberg, 1964

Carter: Concerto for Orchestra, Boulez, 1975

Crumb: Star-Child (Gubrud), Boulez, 1977

Disc 4:

Hovhaness: To Vishnu, Kostekanetz, 1967

Druckman: Lamia (DeGaetani), Bouelz, 1975

Tower: Sequoia, Mehta, 1982

Reich: Tehillim, Mehta, 1982

Disc 5

Adams: Short Ride in a Fast Machine, Masur, 1991

Rouse: Trombone Concerto (Alessi), Slatkin, 1992

Zwilich: Symphony No. 3, Ling, 1993

Bolcom: Clarinet Concerto (Drucker), Slatkin, 1992

Encore: Sousa: The Stars and Stripes Forever, Toscanini, 1944

New York sales tax, if applicable, is included in the price.