Out of concern for the safety our public, musicians, and staff, and in an effort to reduce the spread of COVID-19 (coronavirus), all New York Philharmonic concerts through January 5th, 2021 are cancelled. We will not be shipping orders until further notice. Thank you.

Carl Nielsen: Symphonies Nos. 1 & 4

Regular price $10.00

Tax included.

“Ruthless but innocent – like a child playing with dynamite.” Thus wrote the Danish press at the first performance of Carl Nielsen’s Symphony No. 1 in 1894. This acclaimed recording cycle by the New York Philharmonic and Alan Gilbert shows Denmark’s national composer as one of the wildest and most dynamic composers of early modernism. On this CD, Nielsen’s impressive symphonic debut work is combined with the epoch-making Fourth Symphony. “The Inextinguishable,” written in the midst of the First World War and during a stormy period in the composer’s private life.

Symphony No, 4, Op. 29

  1. I. Allegro
  2. II. Poco allegretto
  3. III. Poco adagio quasi andante
  4. IV. Allegro

Symphony No. 1, Op. 7

  1. I. Allegro orgoglioso
  2. II. Andante
  3. III. Allegro comodo
  4. IV. Finale: Allegro con fuoco

New York sales tax, if applicable, is included in the price.