Out of concern for the safety our public, musicians, and staff, and in an effort to reduce the spread of COVID-19 (coronavirus), all New York Philharmonic concerts through January 5th, 2021 are cancelled. We will not be shipping orders until further notice. Thank you.

Carl Nielsen: Symphony No. 2, The Four Temperaments; Symphony No. 3, Sinfonia Espansiva

Regular price $10.00

Tax included.

“Music is life, and like life itself, music is inextinguishable,” said the Danish composer Carl Nielsen. Raised in the Danish countryside as the son of a poor folk musician, Nielsen’s indomitable courage and infinite curiosity helped him develop into one of the greatest symphonists of the 20th century. With this new series of recordings Nielsen crosses the Atlantic, as the New York Philharmonic and former Music Director Alan Gilbert shed new light on his uniquely Nordic sound.

Symphony No. 3, Op. 27 “Sinfonia Espansiva”

  1. I. Allegro espansivo
  2. II. Andante pastorale
  3. III. Allegretto un poco
  4. IV. Finale: Allegro

*Erin Morley, soprano: Joshua Hopkins, baritone

Symphony No. 2, Op 16 “The Four Temperaments”

  1. I. Allegro collerico
  2. II. Allegro comodo e flemmatico
  3. III. Andante malincolico
  4. IV. Allegro sanguineo

New York sales tax, if applicable, is included in the price.